Day 355 ~ Mormon Trail at South Mountain Phoenix, AZ

March 15th, 2017 ~ Day 355

Heading out early in the morning, I drove forty minutes away to South Mountain. I met my friend Jamie from Colorado for a hike.  I love that we have the same passion and when either of us are visiting the other, we go hiking!

Our hike began on the Mormon Trail, using only my phone as a flashlight, we made our way up the trail in the dark. 

Starting our hike at 5:30, the sun was already beginning to shine off to the east, yet it was still dark as we hiked. The mountains, the clouds and the city lights all the makings for a perfect view!

The sun beginning to rise even brighter as we continued on. It was a beautiful morning for a sunrise hike. 

The moon, almost full, shining brightly in the early morning sky. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the moon so bright, it was almost bright enough for us to see the trail, but I continued to use the light. 

A beautiful piece of the desert. I love South Mountain, it’s just so far away from me. I’m not able to get here on a regular basis. I’m glad Jamie suggested it this morning. 

Love this girl! It’s amazing how you can meet such a kind spirit on the trail one day and become fast friends. 

The beautiful colors of an Arizona sunrise. It feels like forever since I’ve seen one so amazing. The richness of color is gorgeous. 

Jamie and I made it to the end of a ridge before deciding to head back the way we had come. Time was running out for me. I had to get to work. 

Heading back to the trailhead we were able to witness sweeping views of the city and beyond, along with pink cotton candy clouds in the sky. I don’t think I could ever get enough of this place. With 16000 acres, it’ll be awhile before I could cover all the trails. 

Just before we made it back to the trailhead, we caught a glimpse of more beautiful views, with the yellow-orange colors of the sky. 

At the trailhead there was this fence. Fences, I don’t know why, but I love them. The contrast in colors comes alive in my eyes. The older and more rustic they look, the more beautiful they are to me!

Jamie and I hiked almost three miles on our early morning sunrise hike on the beautiful South Mountain. It was great to see my friend and I look forward to many more of our adventures together!

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

