Day 350 ~ Shaw Butte Mountain, Phoenix, AZ

March 10th , 2017 ~ Day 350

The smell of creosote permeated the air at the base of the mountain. A tiny valley where all the water collects. The smell so fresh and clean. It’s the smell of Arizona rain. 

I climbed up Shaw Butte Trail 306. I wanted to see how far I could get uphill with my limited time frame. 

The city lights glowing in the dark with the beginning of the sunrise along the horizon was the view I received as I climbed uphill. I was feeling good. Ready to conquer this mountain. I pushed myself hard going uphill. 

As I continued to climb up Shaw Butte Mountain. The sun began casting it’s golden hue across the horizon. 

I never noticed before, but today I realized, as I climbed up the mountain that you could hear the cars driving along Thunderbird Road. An irritating sound, but I guess that’s what happens when you have a mountain in the middle of the city. I’m grateful for the mountain being here, so close to home and I’m blessed to be hiking it. So how can I really complain?

The peak of the mountain, about a mile away. I wouldn’t have enough time to make it to the top of Shaw Butte. I knew I wasn’t going to make it, I just wanted to make it as far as I could. I did get almost a mile uphill before I had to turn around. 

Capturing a photo of the trail sign. The plants are alive in full bloom. The cacti are plump with all the rains we’ve received lately. Beautiful!

No need for the flashlight heading downhill. The sun had risen. The flowers are in bloom, growing out of the side of the mountain. 

Today makes a total of 999.27 miles on this journey. My original goal was 1500, then 1200, now we’ll see if I can get 1100. Whatever it is, I’ll be happy with my initial goal of hiking everyday for 365 days! It’s a beautiful day in this amazing life!

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

