Day 348 ~ North Mountain Phoenix, AZ

March 8th, 2017 ~ Day 348

When I hiked here last Friday, I saw a trail on the south side of North Mountain. A trail I’ve heard of as the backside, but I’ve never been. Now that everything is so green, I could actually see the trail. 

For this trail, rather than going up the paved road, you would be climbing the mountain on a dirt trail. I vowed I would do that one day this week, so here I am, setting out to climb the backside of North Mountain. 

I parked my car, and began walking down the road, while in the dark, to find this trail. I began climbing up the side of the mountain on what looked to be a trail. I wasn’t sure. I kept going up until my trail seemed to end. I stopped took in my surrounding and thought, this isn’t going to work. It was too dark for me to know where I was, so I headed back down. 

Once I was back down off the mountain I saw a sign, “area closed”. I giggled. I was no where near where I needed to be. 

I decided, instead of trying to search for the trail, I would  head up North Mountain the usual way. My time was slipping away and I needed to get a hike in. Walking along the street, I made my way to the trailhead. The city lights were brightly lit as I began my uphill climb. 

As I climbed higher, you could tell the sun was beginning to rise. The city, with its mountains, looked so beautiful. As the sun begins to rise, the city comes alive. 

I only made it part way up the mountain before my time ran out and I had to head home. Snapping a picture of the highest part of the mountain for me, before heading downhill. 

I’ve never noticed this pole before. I guess because you’re hiking up an old paved road you get interesting pieces of urban electric poles? I’m not sure what it is. Not my thing, so I have no idea what it is. To me, is just interesting, the way the lines come out of the pole. 

Flowers growing out of the side of the mountain. It’s a beautiful winter day here in the city of Phoenix. 

A final shot of the sun as it was rising over the mountains. I made my way back to my car and headed home. As I was driving out of the park, now that it was daylight and I could see, I found the trail I was looking for. I was nowhere near it. With only 17 days left in this journey, I’m going to make it back before this year is done. I’m so grateful for all the opportunities I get to see and do. Love this life!

 
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

