Day 339 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

February 27th, 2017 ~ Day 339

It was a cool and wet evening hike at Thunderbird Mountain today. By deciding not to go hiking in the morning, that decision put Eric and I in the rain this evening. A light sprinkle continued to fall throughout our hike. There were not many people out here at the park tonight. We saw no one on the trails and there were only a few cars in the parking lot.

Today really wasn’t my day. Besides the rain, I forgot my phone, so I had to use Eric’s for some pictures. I wasn’t able to track the hike either. I am guessing we did around 1.5 miles. 

We started out at the base of the mountain off 59th Avenue heading immediately uphill then to the north side of the mountain. The original plan was to hike the mile loop taking the road back to the car so we could get out of the rain faster.

When we came to the road, we decided instead of taking the road back, we could take the Desert Iguana Trail back. It wasn’t raining hard at all and we had our rain gear on. Why not enjoy the hike just a little longer and get that extra half mile in. 

We made it back to the trailhead in no time. It was a beautiful day for a hike, even in the rain. I don’t think I would have had it any other way. Love this life!

 
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

