Day 335 ~ North Mountain Trail #44 Phoenix, AZ

February 23rd, 2017 ~ Day 335

Only thirty days to go! Can you believe it?!?! I have come so far on this journey. Although, I’m excited to be coming to the end. Excited to be able to accomplish something I’ve set out to do. The dedication, time and effort this has taken so far has been a lot of work, but I wouldn’t change a thing. Every step, every place I’ve experienced, everything about this journey had been simply amazing! Still, there is more to come, thirty days more!

Today I made it out for another early morning hike… two days in a row. Yay me!!! Meeting my friend Ian at the North Mountain Visitor Center, our plan was to hike up North Mountain. 

Hiking through the dark, with only our headlamps to guide the way, we started out on the Trail 100. It was a chilly morning out today and my hands were freezing.

After the half mile or so on Trail 100, we turned off onto Trail 101 and hiked for about another half mile. Unlike yesterday, when we came to the crossroads on Trail 101, today we made a right. Making our way to the North Mountain Trail #44.

As soon as we made it over the first ridge, we saw the city lights shining below. Trying to capture a great photo of the moon was impossible, but the lights of the city in the darkness shined bright and were easy to capture. 

Still trying to capture the moon, I caught a soft glow along the horizon coming from the city lights. To me this is a beauty in itself. When I began this journey, my goal was to see all that I could see. Even the small things like this, that so many people miss, are the beautiful moments on this journey and in this life. 

We made our way up the paved road that is North Mountain Trail #44. Enjoying the views of the city lights. Once we reached the top of the mountain, of course you need to touch the fence, we turned around and headed back the way we had come. 

The glow across the horizon was becoming more noticeable as we headed downhill. The sun must be coming up soon. The early morning sky was beginning to get lighter. 

A last view before heading back to the trailhead, capturing the McDowell’s. A glow of what was just beginning of the sunrise over the mountain range, with the city lights all around. Arizona is beautiful, even in the darkness. 

We headed back taking the short cut through an unnamed trail that traveled along 7th Street. Our total hike was just over 3 miles. A beautiful morning for a hike, I’m so grateful to wake up and enjoy this. Not all of us in this life get that opportunity.

Today is yet another sad day in life. Having just lost my mom January 26th, today we lost her best friend Kathy. Two angels in heaven. I don’t know how much more heartache I can handle, but God is pulling me through. One day at a time. 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

