Day 333 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

February 21st, 2017 ~ Day 333

After an amazing four day adventure in California, covered in gray skies, it was great to be back in our beautiful Arizona sunshine. With bright blue skies and white feathery clouds, it felt good to be outside. A bright and cheerful day!

Eric and I parked at the lot off 59th Avenue and began by heading up the road this time, rather than the trail. Time wouldn’t allow for a long hike today. The goal was to get in at least a mile.  

As we hiked up the road, we were in the shade. The sun was hanging low as it was beginning to set and the mountain blocked the sunlight on the west side.

As we headed back around the east side of the mountain, however, the sun was shining brightly on the rocks making the colors a beautiful reddish-orange. 

We caught sight of the sun setting over the White Tank Mountains. The sun has begun setting later in the evenings and as it was after 6pm when we began our hike. I felt lucky we caught the beginning of its majestic beauty. 

As we headed back to the trailhead, looking off to the north the colors of the desert were coming alive from the sun’s rays. Soon the skies would become painted. I would see the painted skies, but that would be on the drive home. 

We made it back to the trailhead in just under a mile, almost to the intended goal. I’m just grateful to be out here on a mountain completing my goal of hiking everyday for 365 days! With only 32 days to go, I got this! 
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

