Day 316 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

February 4th, 2017 ~ Day 316

20170204_172306

This should have been a happy day celebrating my Niece’s 18th Birthday, but all I could think about was how my mom should be here with her and us, celebrating. My mom raised this child, who’s now an adult, a short while when she was little. She was definitely one of my mom’s favorites and she didn’t get to see her beautiful granddaughter become a woman. 

Leaving the party to come to the trails, I had to bring my son. He wasn’t happy to be here. Sounds like his momma. I don’t want to be here either. 

20170204_172400

We started out from the 67th Avenue parking lot, heading immediately uphill. I thought we’d climb to the top of the peak, where we had let off balloons for Father’s day last year and then head through the flat trails to get at least a mile in. 

That wasn’t going to happen. My sweet little boy wasn’t so sweet today. He pitched a fit for the entire .37 mile hike. Once at the top of the peak we headed downhill towards the flat trails, but instead of continuing the hike, I headed for the car. I couldn’t deal with his attitude anymore and I couldn’t push him any further. It wasn’t fair to him or me. He’s not having a good day either. 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

