Day 314 ~ Phoenix Mountain Preserve Phoenix, AZ

February 2nd, 2017 ~ Day 314

It’s Ground Hogs Day and my son-in-law’s birthday. It’s also the day we laid my mother to rest. A beautiful memorial service, full of tears. I have never cried so much in my life. My heart is broken and aches so much. How do people move on after the death of a parent? How did my kids ever do this when their father died? The pain one suffers from the loss of when someone they love dies, is just so unbearable!!!

With the service and then dinner afterward, today’s hike would be a quick evening hike, only a mile long. One of the better parts of this hike, two of my daughter’s and my sweet little granddaughter joined me. 

I didn’t want to hike today. My body and my mind were completely exhausted from the days events. I pushed it off until the absolute last possible minute. We couldn’t even park in the preserve because it was so late and the gates would be locked, so we parked at the dollar store. 

Our hike was along 7th Street. I felt it was safer for the four of us girls to be out there in the dark alone, to be right next to the main road. My sweet little one, in her mother’s arms, enjoyed the headlights from the cars driving by. 

We did a half mile in before turning around and coming back the way we had come. 

I Our hike was along 7th Street. I felt it was safer for the four of us girls to be out there in the dark alone to be right next to the main road. My sweet little one, in her mother’s arms, enjoyed the headlights from the cars driving by. We did a half mile in before turning around and coming back the way we had come. 

I was grateful once our hike was done. This day was almost over. I was grateful once our hike was done. This day was almost over. 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

