Day 303 ~ Waterfall Trail Waddell, AZ

January 22nd, 2017 ~ Day 303

Wanting to get more mileage for the 100 miles in 100 days challenge, Eric and I took my two youngest children over to the White Tank Mountains to do the Waterfall Trail. An easy trail for the kids as it’s only a two mile hike. A nice little family hike to continue on my journey, spend time with the kids and get them outdoors and into nature.

The last time I was here, we had the whole family. My Grandma D was with us and my son was only a baby. Good memories of that day came flooding back to me. My grandma and Jimmy, my children’s father, who are no longer with us in this life, were both on this trail the last time I was here.

My little guy hiking along. He had to bring his hiking stick and wear his momma’s hat.

One of the features of this trail, besides the waterfall at the end, is the petroglyph’s you get to see along side the trail. Ancient markings from the Native Americans who once inhabited this area long ago. This area must have been popular with the waterfall and the flowing creek. Nowadays water rarely flows, but you have to wonder, was it flowing regularly so long ago?

We came across a rustic looking object, I assumed to be a water tank. Bullet holes covered the face of the tank. I wonder how old this is and who placed it here? Was it in recent years or could it be from the miners? So much history on this trail, it left me with more questions. Maybe one day I’ll get the opportunity to research the answers to my questions.

It didn’t seem like we climbed any elevation on this hike, but with views of valley behind us, it looks like we were a little higher than I expected.

We made it to the waterfall. A small little trickle coming over the mountain side. With the recent rains I knew there had to be water flowing and luckily I was right. It was a great day to make it out here for a hike.

There was a pool of water at the base of the waterfall and my little girl wanted to climb across the water and up to where the water was actually falling. Trying not to get her feet wet, she made it across a few rocks. Frozen for quit awhile deciding where to go, she moved and fell in the water. Feet soaking wet, she made her way back and gave up.

Climbing back through the rocks to get to the trail, I had to help my little man through the crack.

Grateful my son did this hike today. He’s not always happy to go hiking and usually complains, but the smile on his face made it all worth it. It was a great family day with my son, daughter and boyfriend. Life is good and I’m grateful I’m out here living it!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

