Day 301 ~ Desert Iguana Trail Glendale, AZ

January 20th, 2017 ~ Day 301

Cloudy skies and wet trails. It’s been raining all day! Luckily I found a break in the downpour right at five when I got off work.

There were only two cars in the parking lot when I arrived. I guess no one wants to hike in the rain. I wonder, had I not been on this challenge, would I be out here? Probably not. 

Hiking at Thunderbird Mountain, I was looking for something quick and easy. Trying to avoid the rain. I feel like I’m getting lazy with my hikes. 

I chose the Desert Iguana Trail on the north side of the park. The trails were covered with puddles. Working my way around the puddles, I tried to tread lightly as to not destroy the landscape. 

The clouds began hovering over the mountains. Not something you see often, especially in Phoenix. Last year was the first time in the nine years I’ve been here, that I have ever seen any type of fog. 

The smell of rain permeated the air from the Creosote Bush. I hiked to the trailhead at 67th Avenue before heading back to the trailhead from where I began. Just as I turned to head back, it began to rain. A light sprinkle, nothing too heavy. 

Thinking about it now, in the last 301 days, I’ve never hiked in more than a sprinkle. I’d consider myself lucky. I’m not a huge fan of the rain, unless I’m under cover watching it fall and listening to the sound. 

Coming back the way I came, the clouds hung heavier over the mountains. It was a wall of mist clinging to the earth. 

I saw no one on the trail, only a bunny and a few birds. Surprised to see any animal with this weather. 

Even with the rain, it made for a beautiful hike! I’m grateful for all I’ve been given to experience on this journey!

 
 Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

