Day 298 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

January 17th, 2017 ~ Day 298

It’s so cold and dark in the morning, I haven’t managed to get myself out of bed to go hiking. So, with only so much time in the evening, I ended up at Thunderbird Mountain again today. 

I love this place! It’s so close to my house and there are some great trails here. My only issue with hiking here most of the time, at least for this 365 day journey, I feel like I’m running out of things to write about and my pictures are becoming the same each time. My experience for the day will always be different. The photos become the same, yet the same cactus can be different at different times of the day or the year. I’m just grateful this mountain is here for me to come to so I can continue on this journey. 

For today’s hike, Eric met me at the trailhead. We parked in the same spot as we did yesterday, off 59th Avenue. There were a few clouds in the sky as we began. It was a chilly evening, but as we hiking, we started to warm up. 

Today we only did the short mile and a half loop. I had to get home to my babies. We arrived late enough and caught the sun setting over the White Tank Mountains to the west. With its golden glow hovering over the mountain, I felt blessed to see it’s beauty. 

To the south of us stood South Mountain, obviously named. With the sunset, South Mountain received a pink aura emanating around it. Yet another beautiful sight we were blessed to view. 

We came to the end of our hike, making a pit stop, we ended up crossing a bridge over a wash. It’s funny, I think I’ve only crossed this bridge a few times in the 500 or so times I’ve hiked at this park. Realizing that if I keep my eyes open, I can always find something new to share each time I come here. 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

