Day 291 ~ Trail 3o6 Shaw Butte Trail Phoenix, AZ

January 10th, 2017 ~ Day 291

20170110_063330

With the kids back in school, I’m back to hiking in total darkness! Eric and I parked at the lot on Central Avenue just south of Thunderbird Road to begin our hike. Trying to adjust to hiking earlier, we met at the latest possible time, 6 am, and it was still dark. Since we met so late our plan was to hike in one mile on Trail 306 and come back to the trailhead the way we came for a two mile in and out hike.

Hiking in the dark, this is basically all you see. A trail of dirt and rock. Having to watch your step carefully, while trying not to trip over any rocks. The light casting shadows on the rocks, makes it easy to stumble. Just as long as you don’t fall, all is good.

With the darkness surrounding us, there was nothing to see. Deciding I needed a picture of something, I turned on the flash to capture a cactus. I’m just not used to this darkness. For the last two weeks I’ve been able to hike in daylight. An adjustment I’m going to have to get used to in order to continue on this journey. I’ve come this far, there’s no stopping me now.

We made it our two miles, hiking only at the base of the mountain on a flat trail. Even with the darkness, starting the day with a hike makes for a beautiful beginning to any day!

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

