Day 284 ~ Shaw Butte Mountain Phoenix, AZ

January 3rd, 2017 ~ Day 284

Parking at the lot on Central just south of Thunderbird, I jumped out of the car to snap a picture of the sun casting colors off into the sky and I wanted to capture it before it disappeared. 

With the kids out of school for their winter break, I am able to hike a little later in the mornings. I’ve been trying to hit a different trail each day and I’m grateful to not have to hike in the darkness, even if only for a little while. 

Climbing up Shaw Butte, at the first turn, I captured the view of Lookout Mountain and the cloudy sky with just a hint of color. I love hiking in this Valley, so many places to hike and the simple beauty that surrounds you, is absolutely amazing. I don’t think I could ever get tired of this place. 

As I came around my second turn, the sun was peaking over the ridge as I made my way uphill. The higher I climbed the more visible it became. I continued hiking with the sun on my back and I made it to a mile before turning around to head back to the trailhead. 

Heading down he rocky road I was in a hurry to make it to work on time. Enjoying the idea of coming to the mountains later in the mornings, today I made it a little too late. I always have to watch my step going downhill on this trail. The recent rains have damaged the trail more than it had been. So besides all the loose rock, there are now deep gouges in the trail from the rushing water coming down the mountain. I made it down the mountain and clocked in two miles. Just another beautiful day in this life!

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

