Day 276 ~ Trail 306 Shaw Butte Trail Phoenix, AZ

December 26th, 2016 ~ Day 276

The air was cool, crisp and damp as I began my hike today. The ground still wet from the rain. The sun was hiding behind the mountain at the trailhead. After spending the day with my children and granddaughter, I dropped the kids off at the airport and headed to the trails. Parking on Central Avenue just south of Thunderbird I began Trail 306.

I wasn’t in the mood to hike. I felt nauseated and dizzy from exhaustion, but I began to go as far as I could. My intent was to make it around the base of Shaw Butte Mountain to see the sunset. 

I only made it a half mile before turning around. I was completely exhausted from the night before. Blessed to take care of my granddaughter for the night, the eight month old little girl didn’t leave her Emmy much sleep. 

Heading back to the trailhead, Lookout Mountain was full of color from the sun. Since Shaw Butte Mountain was immediately to the west of me, I wasn’t able to catch the sunset. I didn’t really care anymore, I wanted to be done and go relax. 

I made it one whole mile. Enough for me to continue on this journey of hiking everyday for 365 days! 

 
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

