Day 274 ~ Desert Vista Trailhead Phoenix, AZ

December 24th, 2016 ~ Day 274

It’s a Saturday, with no work, I decided to head north to the Desert Vista Trailhead and do a longer hike. It’s been awhile since I’ve been here. I received a cloudy morning on the trail. I’m so grateful it was daylight. I am tired of hiking in the dark. 

Today also happens to be Christmas Eve and I’m sad. I was supposed to pick my daughter, her husband and my granddaughter up from the airport last night, but she decided to cancel the flight after all the delays and a nine hour wait at the airport, unsure of when the flight was actually going to take off. I don’t blame her one bit, but I wanted my granddaughter for her first Christmas and I wasn’t going to get what I wanted. 

So as the tears ran down my face, sad all my children wouldn’t be with me this Christmas, I went hiking to try and burn off the sadness.

Beginning on the Hawks Nest Trail, I hiked about a half mile where I could continue uphill or turn right. I decided to do the loop turning right onto the Desert Tortise Trail, an easier trail only about a mile long. 

After a mile of beautiful desert scenery on the Desert Tortise Trail, I came to a T. Left or right would take you along the Valle Verde Trail. I chose right again. I had gone this way once or twice before with Kaveh or Sabrina, or maybe I did it once with each of them. Must have been a long time ago because I couldn’t remember. I do remember heading uphill to a peak. I wanted to sit atop a peak and meditate to give myself some peace. As I hiked, the sun began to peak out of the clouds along the Valle Verde Trail. 

More sunlight along the Valle Verde Trail. It wasn’t long before I came to another crossroads and headed uphill on the Great Horned Owl Trail. I know I’ve been here before. What I didn’t remember was the hike being so long. 

As I climbed uphill, the views became more spectacular. It looked like it could rain off in the distance. The trail seemed so long. I wish I had studied the map beforehand rather than relying on my memory. At two and a half miles, I was done climbing uphill. I decided here was a good enough place to meditate, since I was alone on the side of a mountain. As the mountain loomed overhead, I decided I was done and turned around back the way I had come. 

Climbing downhill was a little difficult on the knees, but I managed to make it down safely. I turned back on the Valle Verde Trail and when I came to the T, instead of turning left I continued heading north to do my originally intended loop. 

Another half mile or so and I made it up to the Dixie Mountain Loop Trail. On more familiar terrain I continued on, feeling a little better. The tears had stopped, but I still had a feeling of sadness. I made it back to the Hawks Nest Trail and headed to the trailhead. Making my hike a total of five miles overall. 

It was a beautiful day on the trail. I kicked butt on speed doing 16-18 minute miles. I guess that’s what happens when I’m upset. I headed home to face Christmas with a piece of my heart missing. 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

