Day 271 ~ Shaw Butte Phoenix, AZ

December 21st, 2016 ~ Day 271

 

A cloud cover sky with with the tempature at 62, made for a beautiful morning hike! It was so warm out and climbing up Shaw Butte made it even warmer. The smell of rain permeated the air. I just love the smell of Arizona rain!!!

There was only one car in the parking lot when I arrived. Another dark morning alone on a trail. You would think I would get used to this. I’m always aware of my surrounding, but I have a constant fear of the unknown. 

The trail was damp and slippery as I climbed uphill. Shaw Butte is difficult enough with the loose rock on the trail, it was even more difficult hiking in the dark with a wet trail. I managed not to slip and fall. 

Every year for Christmas there is a tree that other hikers decorate. This is just a tiny glimpse of the tree. I couldn’t capture much more in the dark. It’s a nice addition to see on a hike to get you in the holiday spirit. I have never hung an ornament on a tree while hiking, maybe next year. 

The city lights shining all around me. One of my favorite sights while hiking in the dark. I could see the specks of rain in my headlamp, but never felt a drop. I guess there just wasn’t enough rain. 

I made it uphill a mile before turning around to head back to the trailhead. Running into people as I made my way downhill. I didn’t feel so alone. I made it just over two miles. Another beautiful way to start my day!

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

