Day 264 ~ North Mountain Phoenix, AZ

December 14th, 2016 ~ Day 264

20161214_061538

 A city full of lights in the early morning hours as I began my hike up North Mountain. It was so dark out with the moon hidden behind the mountain. Using my headlamp to climb the shale rocks from the Peoria Avenue parking lot, I navigated my way up to the paved service road that began the climb to the top of the peak. 

Hiking along the road is so much easier. I caught my first glimpse of the full moon as I was coming around the mountain. It was so bright I decided not to use my headlamp anymore. It added to the peacefulness of my hike. It was a quiet morning on the mountain. I could see headlamps in front of me, but they were far enough in the distance that I felt alone. 

As I made it to the top of the mountain, the sky was just beginning to turn red. A fire in the sky, so amazingly beautiful. It takes your breath away as you stare in awe and wonder. God sure does some amazing work. 

I only stayed a short while before heading back down. The glorious sunrise in my view the entire way. My hike was a total of 1.5 miles. A good climb, I was sweating more than I have in a long time. It’s just another beautiful day in this life!

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

