Day 256 ~ Shaw Butte Trail 306 Phoenix, AZ

December 6th, 2016 ~ Day 256

20161206_062713

 Eric and I met at the parking lot on Central Avenue just south of Thunderbird. Deciding to hike the Shaw Butte Trail 306. We didn’t go uphill today, instead we followed the trail around the base of the mountain. It was dark, again. Surprised?

Today was another sad day in life, as I woke up to a text message that my grandma had passed away. A wonderful woman with 9 children, 66 grand and great grand children, of which I am the first. Along with one great great grandchild, my sweet little grand baby.

This was the last photo taken of my grandma and I. It was at my daughter’s wedding reception in September. I’m grateful for the opportunity to spend a little bit of time with her to add to the wonderful memories of my childhood. 

20161206_063459

 Eric and I talked about the plans for her service while we hiked, as I would be heading back home to Illinois. We hiked in for a mile before turning around. Time can only allow me so much hiking. A little bit of light slowly peaked through the clouds on our way back to the trailhead. It was good to get out here and hike even on a sad day. 
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

One thought on “Day 256 ~ Shaw Butte Trail 306 Phoenix, AZ

  1. Pingback: Day 365 ~ Go John Trail to Overton Trail Cave Creek, AZ – myloveofhiking

Leave a Reply

