Day 251 ~ Deem Hills Phoenix, AZ

December 1st, 2016 ~ Day 251

20161201_175335

Not wanting to hike in the cold dark morning yet again, I decided I would go after work today. I was given the opportunity to meet an old hiking buddy, Carey, for a hike this evening at Deem Hills. I haven’t seen her in well over a year, so I was excited. The plan was to meet at 6 pm. 

I arrived at the trailhead a little early and caught the last glimpse of the sunset, with the moon and Jupiter in sight too. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen the colors in the skies and I’m missing my early morning sunrises. 

It wasn’t long before darkness settled in. Luckily the evenings aren’t as chilly as the mornings. We started out on the Circumference Trail heading north, deciding not to do the Ridgeline Trail. Using our headlamps to guide us, we made our way around the base of the mountain on the west side. 

20161201_185255

 Hiking along the trail, there was no one out here. We were blessed heard an owl hooting off in the distance. It was so peaceful to be out there, in what felt like the middle of nowhere, alone…. just hiking. 

Catching a view of the city lights from the top of a mountain, is amazing. Granted in the dark, this is all you can see. I just love knowing that I’m the one out here while others are at home providing my majestic view. There really is nothing better than being outdoors.

We made it back to the trailhead in about an hour for our three mile hike. I am so grateful for the opportunity to hike with her. It was a great hike. 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

