Day 243 ~ Stoney Mountain Phoenix, AZ

November 23rd, 2016 ~ Day 243

screenshot_20161123-204909

I’m a wimp! The temperature this morning read “feels like 49”, so I decided I wasn’t getting out of bed. This is going to be a long winter for me. I have never been a fan of the cold weather. One of the reasons why I moved from Chicago to Phoenix, was to get away from the cold. 

So instead of freezing, I signed up for a night hike with Trail Mix. Our leader Lonnie, was doing an evening hike through Stoney Mountain. There is no actual Stoney Mountain, it’s just a name someone gave the trails we were hiking. We had a great group of people and Kim even brought Zoe.

20161123_190813

 Starting out at the Dollar Tree parking lot, we began along 7th Street heading toward the Visitor Center. Darkness was covering the skies as we began our hike. The temperature was in the high 60’s, which was cool, but I warmed up quickly. Heading through the Enchanted Forest over to the east side of the park, covering some trails I have been on and some I haven’t. 

That’s one thing I’ve noticed about the Phoenix Mountain Preserve, there are so many unmarked trails. Well worn paths that were never intended to be a trail, but it looks like one, so they get warn even more as people continue hiking and biking them.

We made it to the top of a small peak where I was able to capture the city lights. When hiking in the dark, there’s not much else to see. It’s amazing to me how many people live in this city. I’m so grateful to be the one on the mountain looking out over the city, rather than being the one in my house with the lights on. 

We did a lollipop style loop for a total of 4.5 miles. A nice midweek hike with good mileage. I may have to do this more often and save myself from the chilly mornings. 

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

