Day 236 ~ Shaw Butte Phoenix, AZ

November 16th, 2016 ~ Day 236

wp-image-1686631395jpg.jpg

The moon shining brightly through the clouds in the sky, lit the trail up so much that I decided not to use a flashlight.

Shaw Butte Trail up to the summit, is an old road that has pretty much eroded away most of it. Giant pot holes in the road make for great tripping hazards. That along with the loose gravel, I had to really watch my step. I was feeling really good as I began to hike and climbed at a decent pace.

wp-image-2110806529jpg.jpg

Facing out towards Lookout Mountain, the city lights shined on. After about a half mile of climbing, I was beginning to sweat. I’d wished I hadn’t chosen to wear my sweatshirt. Taking pictures gave me a chance to rest. 

I came around the first corner to see the beginning of what I could tell, would be an amazing sunrise. I couldn’t help but to continue to look back and see all the beauty.

As I was hiking, I thought I heard an owl hooting off to the left side of the trail. As I concentrated on the sound I was hearing, suddenly the owl flew right in front of me across the trail. Then I was positive I heard it hooting, just on the other side of the trail now. I’ve never seen that before.

I made it to a mile before turning around. On a time crunch yet again, I tried to hurry as best I could down the mountain without getting hurt. I was getting really hot, so I took off my sweatshirt. I made it back to the trailhead without a minute to spare. 
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

