Day 234 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

November 14th, 2016 ~ Day 234

20161114_055315

Seeing the full moon as Eric and I were heading to the mountain this morning, I was excited to get a picture. Once at the trailhead, however, the moon seemed to disappear behind the mountain.

We parked at the lot off 59th Avenue, starting at the south end trail. Immediately going uphill, navigating our way through the dark. It wasn’t long before the moon was peaking out over the mountain.

20161114_055336

Darkness with the city lights… one of the best views to capture hiking early in the morning. It’s so calm and peaceful on the trails. There aren’t many people hiking and it’s quiet out here.

Continuing west, we skipped the uphill section and went to the flat trails along 67th Avenue. This area of the park isn’t as quiet, you can hear the traffic from 67th Avenue, but luckily it was only a half a mile before we were heading east on the Desert Iguana Trail that all was quiet again.

20161114_062735

A little bit of yellow and orange across the horizon as we headed east. This was as much of the sunrise as we could see, as it was rising behind the mountains.

I have to remember to be grateful for all that I get the opportunity to see. Being outdoors hiking, gives me my daily dose of peace and serenity. I couldn’t be happier than when I’m out here enjoying the simpler things in life.

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

