Day 233 ~ Horseshoe to Baseline to Gila Trails Goodyear, AZ

November 13th, 2016 ~ Day 233

20161113_100556

Exploring new territory, Eric and I headed out to the Estrella Sierra Mountain Range. I have never hiked in the Estrella Mountain Park before. I have hiked Quartz Peak, which is on the other side of the mountain and one of the more difficult hikes I’ve done.

We had tickets for the NASCAR race today and the Estrella’s are only fifteen minutes from the track. So since we were heading out this way, we thought we’d try out the park. Looking for a short distance route, because of all the walking we will be doing at the race, we stopped at the first trail we could find.

The Horseshoe Trailhead and the Gila Trailhead were both in the same parking lot. We decided to start on the Horseshoe Trail, only because it was longer. The trail was well groomed and it looked like a good biking trail, especially since we could see all the tread marks in the dirt.

We only hiked a third of a mile before coming across the intersection to the Baseline Trail, knowing it would go towards the Gila Trail, we headed that direction.

20161113_101034

Once we hit the intersection for the Gila Trail, we turned into that trail. The Gila Trail is more of a nature trail with signs describing the heritage of the land. Making it back towards the parking lot, we weren’t even at a mile, so we decided to do the loop again. Luckily we did the loop, our total mileage for the hike ended up being 1.1 miles. Enough for me to continue on with my goal.

20161113_101815

Once at the Gila Trailhead, I saw a sign, 100 miles in 100 days. I remember one of my agents, Tamara, talking about doing this last year. I wanted to stop by the Visitor Center to get more information and to see if I was up for the challenge.

Basically, I need to hike 100 miles in any of the ten Maricopa County Parks in the next 100 day, or 100 days from November 1st when the challenge began. So I received my log and ended up buying a park pass so I can do this challenge. I’m always up for a challenge, adding a little more excitement to my 365 day challenge.

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

