Day 229 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

November 9th, 2016 ~ Day 229

20161109_061241

  It was 73 degrees out when I arrived at the trailhead this morning. I thought I’d be warm, but I was wrong. The wind was so strong, it was whipping all around me. It made it cooler than it has been in awhile. I was grateful I chose to have worn my jacket. 

I parked at the lot off 67th Avenue for Thunderbird Mountain, knowing there was nothing but flat trails south of the parking lot. I made my way slowly, meandering through the desert terrain. 

Beginning the trail along 67th Ave, wasn’t so peaceful, the traffic from people making their morning commute was noisy. I made my way as far as I could south before heading east a short while and then north again. A little further away from the street, it was much quieter. 

Once I came to a crossroad in the trail, and since I had extra time, I turned heading east again. Still avoiding any uphill I added another half mile to my hike. Total hike today was 1.67 miles. Another easy day, continuing on my challenge, when I should be resting for the Summit Challenge.

20161109_061811

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

