Day 222 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

November 2nd, 2016 ~ Day 222

20161102_061440

Today I was looking for a quick and easy hike. I always feel like I need an easier day at least once a week, sort of a rest day considering I am hiking everyday. Thunderbird always seems to be the place to go. It’s the trails that are closest to my house and I’ve learned which ones are easiest while on this journey. 

I chose to hike the Desert Iguana Trail Eric and I found last week. I thought it was easy enough when we first hiked it. A very flat, simple trail cutting across the northern portion of the west side of the park.

According to the map, a 3/4 section of this trail has the highest population of desert iguana in the park. I find that very interesting. This will only be my second time on this trail, but in the eight years of hiking Thunderbird Mountain, I never once seen an iguana. I will definitely have to keep an eye out now. 

Parking in the lot, coming off 59th Avenue, where the trail begins, I began my hike. Going the opposite direction as last time, the trail had a gradual uphill climb. It wasn’t anything difficult, but my legs were feeling it. The trail is maybe a half a mile long if even, once I was over the little hill, I was on flat trails the rest of the way. 

I hiked the Desert Iguana Trail until I came to the parking lot on 67th Avenue where the trail ends. From there I took the Coachwhip Trail to the Sunrise Trail, both easy and flat. Perfect for this day. From the Sunrise Trail, instead of going up the mountain, I hiked the road a short while to get back to the Desert Iguana Trail. I made what looked like a lasso on my tracker. 

Once on the Desert Iguana Trail again, it was all downhill from there. I didn’t see any people on the trail today, which made for a nice quiet morning. My total hike was 1.6 miles. Enough for me to continue on this journey of hiking everyday for 365 days. Love this life!

20161102_062902

 Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

