Day 215 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

October 26th, 2016 ~ Day 215

20161026_060438

The moon shining brightly when I arrived at the trailhead this morning. Such a beautiful view. I don’t know why I am so drawn to trees without leaves, I just love the unique barren branches. The moon and the tree, amazing!

Parking off 59th Ave, I decided I would do an easy trail today. My once a week rest day, while still hiking everyday. When I began my hike, I had already forgotten from the time I left my house until the time I got on the trail, that I didn’t want to start here. I don’t know what I was thinking, but I made the best of it and tried to make this hike as easy as possible.

20161026_060733

Immediately I climbed uphill, not as easy as I intended. Luckily it was only a quarter mile and it was the only real uphill I had to do. The rest of my hike was easy, but I was trying to avoid any uphill all together.

The red and orange hues of color along the horizon with the mountain in the background made for a great beginning to my hike and my day. The sun was rising behind the mountain, so I wouldn’t get to see a sunrise, but this was still beautiful enough for me.

20161026_061121

With the moon still hanging brightly in the sky as the sun began to rise, I continued on my journey.

20161026_062914

Hiking the flat trails I avoided climbing the mountains surrounding me. My legs a little stiff from the last few hikes I’ve done, I still kept a decent pace. Granted it was flat trail.

20161026_063029

The colors of the sunrise cast across the sky through the clouds. The sun rising behind two mountain now, this was the last bit of color I was able to see.

I finished my hike out on the paved road and headed back to the car. I hiked two miles exactly. Today was just another beautiful way to start my day.

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

