Day 203 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

October 14th, 2016 ~ Day 203

20161014_055058

Arriving atthe trailhead at 5:45, to meet a friend, the sky was dark and the church on Pinnacle Peak lit up like a palace. It glows in the darkness and you can’t help but notice it’s magnificence.

20161014_060241

I waited until 5:50 before I just went hiking by myself. I decided to do the loop counter clockwise today. The south side of this mountain has a steep uphill or downhill, depending on which direction you go. I decided to go uphill, since this is the trail where I hear my knees cracking when I go downhill.

Using my headlamp up until I was halfway up the hill. Hiking in the darkness here wasn’t as bad as at the other trailhead. Here there were a lot more cars in the parking lot and a lot more people on the trail.

20161014_061622

The sun began to rise and the colors displayed across the horizon. I was getting excited to see the sunrise on the mountain! I did chose this direction also in hopes of seeing the sunrise since I didn’t the last time I was on this peak.

20161014_064310

As I descended down the mountain, the sun was beginning it’s ascent. I could tell by the mountain across 59th Avenue, as the sun’s rays continued to brighten the mountain. I wasn’t able to see it sure to the mountain blocking my view.

Once down, there is a quarter mile path to the parking lot and as I continued on the path and around the mountain, the sun was shining brightly in all its glory! I missed the actual event, but I’m grateful to have caught the end and to me it was still amazingly beautiful!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

