Day 202 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

October 13th, 2016 ~ Day 202

20161013_164438

Waking up late, yet again, I missed my morning hike. I think I’m still recovering from my long weekend, and I needed the rest. Leaving work, I immediately headed to the trailhead. Parking off 59th Avenue, I decided a quick hike would be good enough for today. Too much still to do tonight with the kids. Not being able to hike in the morning really messes with my whole day.

20161013_165253

As I began, the sun was on the other side of the mountain and I was in the shade. That first climb is immediately uphill and was difficult for me today. My legs felt like they had weights attached to them. Thank goodness I was only young a mile and a half.

Coming around the mountain to the west side, the sun was shining brightly in the west. It was too early for a sunset, but the clouds in the sky still captured the beauty of the sun.

20161013_171015

As I came to the end of my hike, I noticed the moon over the other hills. Almost a full moon! It always looks so much bigger in real life than it does in the pictures.

It was an exhausting mile and a half, but I am so grateful to be continuing on this journey!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

