Day 196 ~ North Mountain Phoenix, AZ

October 7th, 2016 ~ Day 196

20161007_061231

A quick hike up North Mountain today for a total distance of a mile and a half. All week it’s been a mile and a half hike. I am trying to take it somewhat easy for tomorrow’s amazing hike.

Writing that, reminds me of the movie “Mile, Mile and a Half”. If you’ve never seen the documentary about the John Muir Trail, it’s a must see. One day I’ll be hiking that trail!

It was almost dark when I arrived but you could still see the city lights, along with the colors of the sun along the horizon. Just another beautiful view to get my day started.

20161007_062332

Parking at the Peoria lot off 7th Street, I began my hike. Initially the climb is steep, a challenging .3 mile up rocky terrain before you come to a paved service road which takes you up the mountain. It becomes much easier on the pavement. A good training hike, but you’d have to do it multiple times to get a good workout. Total elevation of this mountain is 2104 feet.

20161007_063416

I made it to the top and of course had to touch the fence. As I began my downhill ascent, the sun began to rise. I so love our Arizona sunrise. It was a short quick hike to continue on this journey and I look forward to what tomorrow holds! California, here I come!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

