Day 195 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

October 6th, 2016 ~ Day 195

20161006_195422

I almost didn’t go hiking this morning, but so grateful I did, to see the beautiful sunrise. Finally there were clouds! Although it looks like they may be airplane exhaust, they cast a beautiful array of colors into the sky.

20161006_195743

A few of the pinks and blues hovering over the mountains to the west too.

It was after six when I arrived at the trailhead. I left a little later than intended, too lazy to get out of bed, not knowing which mountain I was going to hike. I had no plan. I headed north debating on hiking Deems or Thunderbird. As I was driving, I realized I had no gas. Luckily I had a credit card with me, so I had to stop for that as well. My time being cut short even more, I decided it would have to be Thunderbird.

20161006_195710

Being that nothing was in order this morning, I almost turned around. I’m grateful I didn’t. I believe everything happens for a reason, and maybe I was running late so I could see these spectacular views.

20161006_195552

I hiked up the north side of the mountain off 59th Avenue and Pinnacle Peak. I went as far as I could go for twenty minutes before turning around. Everything worked out perfectly, as I was able to capture this beautiful view!

I hiked a total of 1.5 miles in 35 minutes. I was a little faster going downhill, as always. I really feel truly blessed today as I watched the sunrise this morning. I have been missing the sunrise with clouds in the sky and today I was awarded the opportunity to see them. TYG! ❤

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

2 thoughts on “Day 195 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

  1. Day

    Hey Marsha, It was really great meeting you on Cactus to Clouds yesterday (Oct 8). Our group didn’t see you past the rescue box 2. I just wanted to check in and see how the day went and make sure that you are ok! I will be watching all your amazing hikes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

