Day 193 ~ Piestewa Peak Phoenix, AZ

October 4th, 2016 ~ Day 193

20161005_043248

I met my friend Kent at Piestewa Peak for an evening hike. Trying to get more Cactus to Clouds training in and I haven’t seen Kent in probably six months, so it was great to get an opportunity to catch up and get an extra hike in.

20161005_043454

It’s so amazing how different the views are from that last time I hiked this trail, that being last Saturday. Getting to see the sunset off the mountain rather than a sunrise is just as spectacular. If only there were clouds in the sky, but I’m not complaining, the sunset was beautiful!

20161005_043410

Looking out over the valley I noticed this mountain in the distance. Confused for a moment, wondering what mountain it could be, I then realized it was Camelback. I never noticed it before. Granted I have only been on Piestewa ten times or so.

The view from this angle is so different than what you see traveling around the city, where the mountain actually looks like a camel. I believe Camelback is the tallest peak in the Phoenix Mountain Preserve. I’ll get there at least once in this journey. It’s a legendary hike in Phoenix. All the visitors go and that’s why I, as a person who lives here doesn’t. I’m not a fan of huge crowds and Camelback Mountain is always super crowded.

20161005_042432

Kent and I made it to the peak. I took my time getting to the top. I really don’t think I do well in the heat. It was only in the 90’s, but still too warm for me to do a difficult hike like this one. I wonder too, if it could be that my body is just done by this time. I wake up at 4 a.m. to hike everyday, by 6 p.m. I’m exhausted.

20161005_043831

Heading downhill, the sun was beginning to set off the White Tank Mountains. Really an amazing view from this elevation, high above the city. Going down, I stopped to take a picture of this little tree.

I’ve seen this poor mangled creosote bush every time I’ve hiked this trail and it has always amazed me. He stands in the middle of the trail with thousands of people walking by and still manages to survive. I can only assume it was much larger at one point and the constant flow of people passing by have destroyed the little guy. A perfect picture with the sun setting in the background.

20161005_043309

It was a great hike! I got a great workout in with an old friend. It’s always great to catch up with friends and I am grateful that I have friends who are willing to join me on this journey.

As I was driving away from the trailhead, I noticed the glow of the sun setting, the moon in the sky and the city lights beginning to shine. A beautiful way to end my evening!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

