Day 191 ~ Shaw Butte Phoenix, AZ

October 2nd, 2016 ~ Day 191

screenshot_20161002-144632

A bright beautiful sunny morning hiking up to the top of Shaw Butte. Eric and I parked on Central off of Thunderbird to do the shorter version of this trail. Immediately the trail goes up, so we began our uphill climb. Stopping every so often to catch our breath.

screenshot_20161002-144858

Once we were at the peak we took a quick break, noticing a storm over South Mountain and the Estrella’s off in the distance. We still had the sun shining brightly. I showed Eric where I had my passport stamped for the Seven Summits last November. Hopefully this is where I’ll be standing for the event this year, because then I’ll know where to go.

screenshot_20161002-144948

As we descended the mountain, about a mile from the end of the trail, we happened to turn around and were surprised to see the storm over the peak. Just 15 minutes ago these clouds were on South Mountain and now they where covering the peak we were just standing on. Crazy how fast they had moved.

screenshot_20161002-145236

The storm continued heading east and the amazing cloud formations overtook the skies. It looked like waves of the ocean coming into the shore. So amazing!

The storm had followed us all the way to the trailhead, but it wasn’t until we were in the truck that it began to rain. Prefect timing! We hiked a total of 2.8 miles. Just another beautiful way to start the day!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

