Day 181 ~ Desert Vista Trailhead Phoenix, AZ

September 22nd, 2016 ~ Day 181

20160922_121202

White fluffy clouds against a bright blue sky as I began my hike on the Hawks Nest Trail at the Desert Vista Trailhead. It was only 85 degrees when I began, but with the sun shining directly on me and the humidity so high, I was dying out there. Off to the west, however, a storm was brewing. You could see the dark clouds off in the distance.

Desert Vista Trailhead has so many different trails you can hike. So starting on the Hawks Nest Trail, climbing to the top of the quarter mile trail, I then headed east on the Dixie Mountain Loop. From there I was on the Valle Verde Trail and finally I was on the Desert Tortise Trail heading back to the trailhead. I decided to do the loop the opposite direction than I did the last time I hiked these trails, back in the spring when my journey was just beginning.

20160922_121258

More dying plants on the trail. This time there was less green. I hope the rain hits this mountain and maybe next time it will be green again.

20160922_121450

The clouds were coming my direction and soon I was under complete cloud cover. No more sun shining down on me. The wind was picking up and the temperature was beginning to cool down. It wasn’t quite as hot out as when I began.

20160922_121539

So awesome to see a hawk flying overhead just before the end of the hike. I just love seeing animals in nature. The little pleasures of hiking and being outdoors.

Total my hike was just under three miles. Still grateful to be able to accomplish my goal. Just another beautiful way to start my day!

 

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook and for more photos follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

