Day 177 ~ Negro Bill Trail Moab, UT

September 18th, 2016 ~ Day 177

20160921_075423

Arriving in Moab late last night, Eric and I decided that a four mile hike, ten minutes from our campground would be a great start to our adventure. The Negro Bill Trail was perfect!

The trail is an in and out. It’s a beautiful canyon cut out by a stream. The stream begins about six miles from the Colorado River and feeds directly into the river. The trail follows along the stream with cottonwood, willow trees and a lot of poison ivy.

screenshot_20160921-081137

The trail is in a canyon cut out by the towing sandstone cliffs on each side. Beautiful red walls of the canyon with so many different accentuating colors.

screenshot_20160921-081154

There really is a lot of poison ivy along the trail. The colors are changing and fall is coming. You don’t get to see this very often in Phoenix. I read the warning signs, but still I tried to help a dog fetch his ball and didn’t realize I was walking through the poison ivy. Now I have a rash on my ankle. 😲

screenshot_20160921-081211

The views only became more spectacular. The colors of the sandstone were so amazingly breathtaking. I couldn’t get enough and I didn’t want it to end.

screenshot_20160921-081225

Eric crossing one of our many river crossings, at least ten. I only got my feet wet once and by that time I was hot, it felt great!

The majority of the trail we walked through sand, which made it a more difficult hike. My shoes were full of sand by the time we were done with the hike.

screenshot_20160921-081247

A beautiful image of rock and water. I love how the reflection bounces off the water. These are the moments I treasure and why I continue to keep hiking on this journey, to see all that I can see!

screenshot_20160921-081303

Eric and I stopped to take a break, there wasn’t much shade at this point on the trail, but we had a little spot.

screenshot_20160921-081322

At the end of the 2.25 miles, we came to the amazing Morning Glory Natural Bridge. The bridge is the sixth largest natural bridge in the US. It’s span is 243 feet an it looks like an Arch. It was a wonderful surprise at the end of the trail.

screenshot_20160921-081338

Also at the end of the trail, you can see where the stream comes from, a small crack in the wall with water slowly streaming down. Climbing up the side of the wall was sandy and slick, I fell and began sliding down, so where I’m standing is as far as I was going to go.

We enjoyed a moment of rest before heading back out. It was getting late in the afternoon and even though the temperature was in the low 90’s, if was getting hot.

screenshot_20160921-085618

Right across the street from the trailhead is none other than the Colorado River! I had to stop and take a picture of the beauty. I captured this majestic view and if you look closely you can see the deer crossing the river. I’ve never seen anything like it before. So amazing!!!

screenshot_20160921-085637

We ended our day kayaking on Ken Lake. The sun was shining brightly which made it a little too warm. Still, it was a beautiful day on our boots, bikes and boats adventure!

See the rest of the pictures from today’s hike on YouTube… https://youtu.be/JCv7_jbc7xw

Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook  and for more photos, follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

