Day 175 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

September 16th, 2016 ~ Day 175

20160916_065332

A full moon hanging over the White Tank Mountains this morning. A beautiful view! I met my friend Barb at the 67th Avenue parking lot to hike Thunderbird Mountain. It’s been at least a year, maybe two, since we’ve hiked together.

It was dark when we started and neither of us pulled out a flashlight, so we hiked in the dark. It was difficult to see where I was going until my eyes adjusted. It’s been awhile since I hiked this trail in the darkness. I’ve hiked this trail at least 100 times, so I feel comfortable as to where I’m going, but the trails change all the time. You never know when you could trip over a rock.

It was only 67 degrees out when we arrived. It’s sad, but I thought to put a jacket on, if only I had one. Soon I will be dressing in layers and I can’t wait! I’m so done with the desert heat. There’s just so much more to do once it cools off. I want to see all that I can see!

screenshot_20160916-212013

We hiked the trail the way we used to when we would hike together with Lori. It’s a two and a half mile loop and it took us a little over an hour. It was a great morning catching up on life while enjoying an early morning hike.
Join me on my journey of hiking everyday for 365 days, to see all that I can see! Never miss out on a post and “like” me on Facebook  and for more photos, follow me on Instagram!

Leave a Reply

