Day 167 ~ Dreamy Draw VOAZ Loop Phoenix, AZ

September 8th, 2016 ~ Day 167

screenshot_20160908-200255

Another dark and cloudy morning. With all the clouds, again there wasn’t a beautiful sunrise to see. After three days, I think I’m going through withdrawals! No rain on the the trail today, but with yesterday’s rains, the humidity was high.

screenshot_20160908-200313

Today’s hike was with Trail Mix and Rene as our leader. I really don’t want to travel a half hour away, but I do love our morning hikers. I miss the group when I’m not with them.

We hiked the VOAZ (which I learned, thanks to Rene, stands for Volunteers of Arizona) Loop from the Dreamy Draw parking lot. Starting out on Trail 1A to get to the loop, I actually didn’t officially make it to the VOAZ Loop. I had to turn around to be home by seven.

I ended up with 2.5 miles, but it was an in and it for me. I always feel like I’m missing out when I have to leave early. I’m just grateful I get to share my mornings hiking with my friends, even if only for a little while. I’m also grateful to still have the opportunity to get out there on the trails, even with my time constraints and responsibilities.

screenshot_20160908-200527

On another note, I couldn’t help but notice how dried out this cactus looked. It’s funny how I never noticed the changes in the plant life before. Since I’ve been out on the trail everyday, I have begun to notice things. These cacti needles are already starting to turn to a brown dried up color. Where they used to be white. One thing I’ve noticed about the desert, you have to enjoy every moment while it lasts because it changes so quickly.

Leave a Reply

