Day 166 ~ Shaw Butte Phoenix, AZ

September 7th, 2016 ~Day 166

20160907_160037

Nothing but gray skies this morning. No beautiful sunrise today. Off in the distance you could see the rain pouring down. I’m happy I chose this trail today. Although there looked like rain, I was dry. The air was quite muggy, unless you were not blocked by the mountain, then you could then feel a cool breeze.

20160907_155937

As I was hiking up the mountain, and because I always look at the ground while walking, I saw a caterpillar. Not sure if it was dead or alive, I’m not even sure if it is a caterpillar. It just reminded me of the hike Rene is planning up North Mountain, where you could see all the caterpillars migrating across the trail. I guess this guy took of early.

20160907_160008

As I climbed further up the trail, I could see the rain coming my direction. You couldn’t see all of the mountain ridgeline from the storms. I was on a strict time limit. Waking up to realize I had no coffee, I slowly made my way to the trail.

20160907_160025

About three minutes before I had to turn around it started to sprinkle. It felt good and luckily it wasn’t the downpour I was seeing off in the distance.

Once heading back downhill, the rain came down a little harder. As I was moving it didn’t seem like it was a lot of rain, but once back to the car it was raining buckets. Grateful to have had that time limit. I love the rain, but I’m not a fan of being drenched.

I hiked almost two miles today. Not a lot, but the miles are adding up. Yesterday I realized that this past Saturday I have already made my 500 miles mark. Whoo hoo!

Leave a Reply

