Day 164 ~ Deem Hills Phoenix, AZ

September 5th, 2016 ~ Day 164

20160905_082728

Happy Labor Day! Of course my morning was spent hiking on a mountain. Today it was Deem Hills. It was dark when we arrived with a little chill in the air. The temperature was in the low 70’s. I hope it stays that way.

It didn’t stay dark long and it’s still not dark enough for headlamps. Soon they will be necessary.

20160905_082847

We started from the parking lot on 51st Avenue. Hiking to the peak for a total of 3.3 miles. We did an in an out rather than the loop. The climb was tough, especially for my breathing. A good workout in the middle of the city.

The trail was quiet, not too many people out this early. I don’t think Deems is a popular trail, or it may be that not many people are familiar with it.

20160905_084457

Today’s hike was a Phoenix Summit Challenge training hike with the Happy Hikers Group. I’m not doing the actual PSC this year, but I will be the summit manager for Shaw Butte. I get to be on top of the mountain all morning stamping passports and taking pictures. I couldn’t be more excited for this opportunity to volunteer for such a great event.

My plan is to do all the training for the hike and to do it all on my own in one day. I did the event last year and said it’d be a one and done, so volunteering will still allow me to be apart of an awesome event.

It was a great start to a beautiful day and nice because of the holiday, I don’t have to work.

Leave a Reply

