Day 162 ~ South Mountain National Trail Phoenix, AZ

September 3rd, 2016 ~ Day 162

20160903_150304

105 degrees as I began hiking at one o’clock in the afternoon. Craziness! I only lasted 1.75 miles. It was way to hot.

I had a garage sale this morning so I wasn’t able to hike in the early cool morning hours. After dropping my kids off at their cousin’s house for the night, I headed to the trail since it was only eight minutes away.

The National Trail starts out as a dirt road for about a mile before you get to an actual trail. I’ve done the entire trail once, for The National Trail Trek last January. I look forward to doing the event again. The entire trail is about 16 miles one way and covers the entire mountain from east to west.

20160903_150457

It was so hot even the cactus is melting! My shoes were melting too and my feet were on fire.

I was at .88 miles when I decided to turn around. It wasn’t so much the heat as my head. Hiking alone my mind usually gets the best of me. I was afraid there would be a mountain lion or bobcat attack. They always say they attack when people are alone. Fear won and I headed back.

It’s probably a good thing I turned around. I saw no one while I was hiking and I know better than to hike alone or in this heat.

4 thoughts on “Day 162 ~ South Mountain National Trail Phoenix, AZ

Leave a Reply

