Day 149 ~ Shadow Mountain Phoenix, AZ

Day 149 ~ Day 149

Eric and I were planning to do a Meetup with Trail Mix today, but it was so much more enjoyable to sleep, so we didn’t make it.

Instead, we headed off to Shadow Mountain at eight in the morning. The temperature was in the low eighties, with the sun shining brightly on us it was a little warm but not unbearable.

I’ve only been to this mountain once before. We parked in a church parking lot on the other side of the mountain and we set off to explore new terrain.

We passed a couple churches along the trail. We planned to do the circumference of the mountain and stay off the hills. Coming to a road that lead up the mountain we saw what looked like a damn, so we decided to do a little side track.

Heading up the road we realized it was a water holding tank. I hadn’t seen this the last time I was here. We walked around the tank and found a trail that continued on north. As we began hiking Eric thought he saw a coyote, but then decided it was a bunny.

We made it to a point in the trail where we could go three directions, and we decided to head forward. But, not for long, ahead were three coyotes prancing on the trail. Time to head back to where we came from!

Picking up a rock, just in case, I picked up my pace and hiked back down the trail. I’ve been told coyotes will run from you, but I’m not willing to take a chance and I’m grateful Eric agrees.

We made it about two and a half miles in an hour. I’m glad we turned it around, not only for the coyotes, but the heat was turning up. I’m looking forward to the next time I get the opportunity to explore this mountain.

Leave a Reply

