Day 137 ~ Charles M. Christansen Trail 100 Phoenix, AZ

August 9th, 2016 ~ Day 137

20160809_085808.jpg

Today was the beginning of the Charles Christansen trek, Rene puts on through Trail Mix. It’s an annual hike she does through Meetup. The goal is to break up the trail in four hikes, where we’ll end up hiking the entire trail, twice.

Starting at 40th Street and Shea, we hiked the trail to the end where it meets at Tatum Blvd where we chose a rock to bring back to our next ending point. This rock will have traveled the entire Charles M. Christiansen Trail.

20160809_085552

It was another beautiful sunrise! I almost didn’t come this morning because I woke up late, but today was my last day before the kids start school so I had to go to enjoy my last day of freedom.

I’ve never hiked east of 40th Street, so having the chance to explore, basically a new trail, was pretty sweet. I may have hiked the entire Trail 100 at different times, but my goal this fall will be to hike the entire trail. One way the distance is about ten miles. It’ll be another great adventure in this life.

20160809_085951

We painted the rock with nail polish and left it under a bush. Next time we will hike, we’ll hike to our rock and take it to the next stopping point. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to complete the whole trek, but at least I get to be a small part of.

I’m so glad I went today. I was given the opportunity to begin this awesome trek and we got a little over five miles in. Keeping me on track for my 1500 mile goal.

Leave a Reply

