Day 135 ~ Sandy’s Canyon Trail to Fisher Point Flagstaff, AZ

August 7th, 2016 ~ Day 135

Screenshot_20160807-171949

Another beautiful day on the trail! Today I headed north again, this time to Flagstaff. I did a Trail Mix Meetup. I did this same hike last summer with the group. It was a great hike the first time and today didn’t disappoint.

It was a gorgeous day out. Cool when I arrived at the trailhead and it never got too hot. The sun was shining brightly in the sky with big white fluffy clouds. I did end up with a little bit of sun burn.

Screenshot_20160807-172450

We started out on a nice flat trail and after a mile or so, we headed down to the bottom of the canyon floor. It wasn’t a long hike down. I believe we only had approximately 400 feet of elevation gain/loss.

Back on level ground hiking through the canyon of tall grass, there were wild flowers of all different colors. We hiked a couple miles to the turn off for Fisher Point. Oncewe turned, it wasn’t long before we headed uphill. It was a 1.2 mile hike to the top short and steep. With being in the elevation,it was hard for me to catch my breath.

Screenshot_20160807-172932

Once at the top of Fisher Point, we sat down for a break. The views were breathtaking. I found a nice shady spot next to the overhanging cliff to sit down and take a break. It was great to look across the canyon and see the pine trees across the way. Looking to my right, I could see for miles.

Just before we left I walked around to the other side of the cliff and was able to snap this picture of the trail we had just hiked. Further off in the distance you could Humphreys Peak.

Screenshot_20160807-173447

We climbed back down to the Sandy’s Canyon Trail, and headed to our left to go to the cave. It was a short half a mile or so down the trail, but it’s something you don’t want to miss, so I pulled out the headlamp and headed in.

It was dark and damp. Trying to stay off the ground, I had to squat and walk through the other side. My hands were black from the soot on the ground. Luckily I didn’t crawl through the little tunnel.

Screenshot_20160808-092454

From there or group headed back the way we came. I picked up my pace on the way back trying to finish and get back to my kids.

Once everyone arrived back to the trailhead we realized we were missing three people who headed back earlier. No one had passed them on the trail and their car was still there. We waited an hour for them, left a couple people at the trail, and called the sheriff just and case. From that point, I didn’t know what more I could do, so I headed home. I’m not sure what happened, but I do know they’re ok.

Screenshot_20160807-171923

Today I was given the opportunity to hike a portion of the Arizona Trail. Someday I’d love the opportunity to hike all 790 miles…one day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

