Day 134 ~ West Fork Trail ~ Oak Creek Canyon Sedona, AZ

August 6th, 2016 ~ Day 134

20160806_160209

The kids and I headed to Sedona for the day to do the West Fork Trail. It’s been at least a year since I’ve been here. We left early so we could get parking at the trail. It was a surprisingly cool 67 degrees when we arrived. I actually had to put my jacket on because I was chilly.

Screenshot_20160806-183014

As soon as we stated the trail we found blackberries. We had to climb through the thorny bushes to get to the good ones and even with all that work, they were still small. All along the trail next to the river were blackberries and so much more than at the beginning. They were yummy, both bitter and sweet. They got bigger the further we stepped away from the trail too.

Screenshot_20160806-183222.jpg

We came to an old lodge that had been destoyed by a fire, it’s now crumbling and has become overgrown with plants and ivy. You could see the fireplace and the two walls that were still standing had windows without the glass. You could see the separation of rooms on the ground. Reading up on it, it had only been destroyed by fire in 1980.

They also had an old chicken coup and what I thought may have been a smoke house, or maybe it was something to store food. I’m not quite sure. It was a room in the side of the mountain. The kids and I had to climb in it. I am always interested in seeing things from the past. Sometimes I wonder if I was born in the wrong lifetime. I’ve always dreamt of living in the past.

Screenshot_20160806-184000

We hiked about a mile and a half to the swimming hole I promised the kids. This was our stopping point. The kids can only go so far before the complaining begins.  They played in the water for a half an hour before we headed back.

They kids and I had a great time exploring! They climbed the side of the mountain and we crossed the creek several times with ease. My daughter has begun to use her imagination with ideas of how we could live outdoors. She looks for the prefect campsite and of course she finds the best. Even if we can’t camp here.

It was an amazing adventure! I can’t wait till the next one.

Screenshot_20160806-183822

My favorite picture today was of the sap dripping of the tree. Luckily my daughter pointed it out.

Leave a Reply

