Day 131 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

August 3rd, 2016 ~ Day 131

Screenshot_20160803-150813

A beautiful morning out there on the mountain. I didn’t get started until almost 6:30. It was already humid and the sun was brightly shining in the sky. The temperature was in the 80’s, less than usual, but still hot. The only thing that helped was the shade and the slight breeze I could feel every so often.

I parked off 67th Ave and did the hike Lori and I used to always do. I haven’t parked on this side for a month or so and it looked different. It is either from the rain the night before that made the colors look so distinct or the fact that we’re in the middle of the desert  and everything is just drying up.

I chose this loop so I could get two and a half miles in. I’m still trying for my 1500 mile goal and every step counts! Since I had woken up late, I pushed hard so I could get to work on time and still get my daily hike in.

After coming to this mountain for years I have never known the trail names. It’s been less than a year since they placed signs up stating which trail you are on. I’m not so sure the trails ever had names before the signs came. Even once the trail names were posted, I never paid attention.

Until today that is. The loop I took started out on the Chuckwalla Trail to the Sunrise Trail to the Ridgeline Trail and back to the Chuckwalla Trail. Maybe it’s because there are so many trail names in just two and a half miles, this is why I never really paid attention. Just craziness!

Screenshot_20160803-151108

I also caught a glimpse of a bunny rabbit on the trail. He sat long enough for me to get his picture. Usually they take off before I can even get the camera out.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 131 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

Leave a Reply

