Day 112 ~ Shaw Butte Trail #306 Phoenix, AZ

July 15th, 2016 ~ Day 112

20160715_120236

Parking at the Shaw Butte trailhead I started out along Trail 306, the Shaw Butte Trail. After all the years I’ve been coming here, I never knew this was the actual trail name. I’ve had the opportunityto hike this many times. Sometimes it helps to pay attention.

I headed south on the trail and followed it around to the far south side of the mountain. I didn’t want to do any uphill, as I’m still healing from having my tooth pulled. So once I came to the first hill, about a mile and a half after I began, I turned around and headed back. I had started later in the morning and the heat was killing me. I wasn’t feeling too good.

20160715_120442

I saw a horse on the trail. It raised my spirits a little to give me the extra push to make it back to the trailhead. There’s just something about seeing a horse in the desert that touches my heart. I love the beauty of animals and nature as one.

A beautiful morning in the desert! An amazing way to start my day!

Leave a Reply

