Day 105 ~ Piestewa Peak Phoenix, AZ

July 8th, 2016 ~ Day 105

20160708_072124

An early morning sunrise hike at Piestewa (Squaw) Peak with my good friend Jamie from Colorado. Grateful to have the opportunity to hike with her again. I missed her. Next time will be in Colorado. I can’t wait to go back!

20160708_201751

Getting to the trail at 5 a.m. it was still a little dark out. I hadn’t been here since the seven summit challenge back in November. I wouldn’t consider this a favorite hike, but it’s a good one for training.

20160708_201309

As the sign says, 1.18 miles with 1,168 elevation gain, it’s a tough climb. It took us about 35 minutes to get to the top. Early in the morning there weren’t any bugs, but we did get to see a ringtail cat. Pretty awesome! I’ve never seen one before.

We didn’t stay at the top too long. Jamie’s flight was taking off at 8:30. The sun had already risen as we were climbing up, but we got some great views along the way. It was so great to have an hour with my good friend. I can’t wait until next time!

Leave a Reply

