Day 89 ~ Thunderbird Mountain Glendale, AZ

June 22nd, 2016 ~ Day 89

20160622_134350

A beautiful morning today! The sun was hiding behind the clouds and it made for a spectacular view.

As I got out of the car at the trailhead, all I could smell was smoke. From where I parked I wasnt able to see anything, but off in the distance it looked like there was heavy smog.

I chose the short loop today along with the easy route. Trying to give my legs a little break. Once I made it to the other side of the hill I could see smoke along the south mountain ridgeline. At the top of the peak I was able to see where the fire began in the south east valley. Apparently it was a mulch fire that probably started from this extreme heat. Although the temp dropped to 88 degrees this morning and I even started later than normal.

I hope it rains soon. The smoke from the fire will hang in the Valley for awhile. Usually the rain helps to remove it, at least that’s what is like to think. If I thought the smog was bad before, it’ll be worse now. 

It was a quick mile and a half today and I am feeling grateful. I am so happy to have continued on this journey and to have continued on with my goal. Only 277 more days! 😆

Leave a Reply

