Day 84 ~ Lone Pine, CA

June 17th 2016 ~ Day 84

Driving from Phoenix to Lone Pine, CA with my cousin Greg and his friend Libby, tomorrow we are hiking Mt Whitney. We had an eight hour drive, but it wasn’t too bad. We were excited to climb!

20160617_144921
Mt Whitney

We arrived in Lone Pine early afternoon Friday. First we had to get our permits from the Visitor Center. When we arrived at camp, you could see Whitney from our campsite. It was so magnificent. The only hike I could do for the day was around the campground.

We made it to the river where Greg and Libby jumped in. It was way too cold for me. I’m sure it was refreshing.

20160617_145526

I took a few steps on the Whitney Portal Trail to actually walk on a trail. I had no service here, so I have no idea how far we walked. Tomorrow is the big hike, so for today, less is better.

Leave a Reply

