Day 75 ~ Lookout Mountain Phoenix, AZ

June 8th, 2016 ~ Day 75

20160608_052929
Lookout Mountain

Driving to the trail, I got to see this awesome view! The mountain looked so massive. I haven’t been to this mountain since November of last year, and that was again for the Phoenix Seven Summit Challenge.

FB_IMG_1465473108325
Phoenix Seven Summit Challenge 2015

I didn’t start the trail where I have in the past on the south side of the mountain. My main goal was to reach the top and I didn’t know how much time it would take, so I parked at the 16th Street parking lot.

From here, the trail takes you pretty much uphill. It has a lot of loose rocks and I had to be cautious, especially coming downhill. Once you reach the saddle you begin to do a little rock scrambling. I couldn’t tell where the trail was as I began to climb. They used to have markers, but they have since worn off. Since the only direction is up, away I went, and soon I was able to see the trail again.

20160608_053131

The sun had almost finished rising when I arrived at the trail this morning, but I still was able to capture some beautiful pictures as it was making its way up for the day.

It didn’t take me too long to make it to the top so I decided to do a portion of the circumference trail. I saw a little bit of uphill directly in front of me as I was heading down from the summit, so I decided to take that one. Wrong decision. It was very steep and rocky, and when I came to the end, which I didn’t realize there was an end, it dropped off 30 feet below. Last year a friend of a friend was found deceased (it’s believed he fell) on this mountain and with slippery rock and that memory, I was extra cautious heading downhill.

I found my way to level ground and headed west towards the circumference loop. Easy stuff from then on. I only ended up doing a little over a mile and a half. The climbing took more time than I assumed. This became a 45 minute hike from the scrambling.

 

Leave a Reply

