Day 58 ~ Woodchute Trail Jerome, AZ

May 22nd, 2016 ~ Day 58

20160522_110146

Today’s hike was another awesome Meetup with Trail Mix. We had a big group of people. Too many familiar faces to name them all.

FB_IMG_1464010447346

I’ve never had an opportunity to hike in Jerome, so I was really excited for this hike. I spent the night in Flagstaff and headed to the trail early in the morning.

We started at 7200 feet of elevation. The smell of pine was overwhelming as we started on the trail. Unfortunately, we didn’t stay in the pine trees for long.

The views were breathtaking being so high up in the tree tops. We could see mountain ranges for miles!

After a little over a mile and a half, I made the decision to turn around. After hiking the canyon the day before, I was feeling a little sick. I think the elevation had a lot to do with it. I thought it would be best for myself and the group if I turned around.

On my way back I ran into some horses. Very cool! I ended up with a little over three and a half miles of hiking. Not so bad after hiking 23 miles yesterday.

Leave a Reply

